Notes: New Hampshire did not provide data in time for the 2010-2018 NIS.
Mississippi did not provide data in time for the 2012-2014 NIS.
Alaska did not provide data in time for the 2013-2014 NIS.
States and areas in italics do not participate in HCUP.
a Prior to June 1984, the Midwest Region was designated as the North Central Region.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau. Census Bureau Regions and Divisions with State FIPS Codes. Accessed August 3, 2020.
Figure 2: 2019 NIS States, by Census Division
U.S. Region Census Division States in HCUP States not in NIS
Region 1 (Northeast) Division 1 (New England) CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT n/a
Division 2 (Mid Atlantic) NJ, NY, PA n/a
Region 2 (Midwest)a Division 3 (East North Central) IN, IL, MI, OH, WI n/a
Division 4 (West North Central) IA, KS, MN, MO, ND, NE, SD n/a
Region 3 (South) Division 5 (South Atlantic) DC, DE, FL, GA, MD, NC, SC, VA, WV n/a
Division 6 (East South Central) KY, MS, TN AL
Division 7 (West South Central) AR, LA, OK, TX n/a
Region 4 (West) Division 8 (Mountain) AZ, CO, MT, NM, NV, UT, WY ID
Division 9 (Pacific) AK, CA, HI, OR, WA n/a

return to report