Data Organizations Participating in the NASS

The NASS is based on the data collection efforts of data organizations in participating States that maintain statewide data systems and that have partnered with AHRQ. The NASS would not be possible without the following organizations that contribute data to HCUP. Many of the organizations have websites describing their data or providing statistics based on their State data. Links to these websites are provided below. Not all states necessarily appear in every year of the NASS. See Availability of HCUP Data for a list of State database participation and availability by year.
 
Partner Index
California Kansas New York Texas
Colorado Kentucky North Carolina Utah
Connecticut Maine North Dakota Vermont
District of Columbia Maryland Ohio Wisconsin
Florida Michigan Oklahoma
Georgia Minnesota Oregon
Hawaii Missouri Pennsylvania
Illinois Nebraska South Carolina
Indiana Nevada South Dakota
Iowa New Jersey Tennessee
California
Data and Reports Help Desk
Customer Engagement and Data Resources Group
Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development
2020 West El Camino Avenue, Suite 1100
Sacramento, CA 95833
Phone: (916) 326-3802
Fax:  
Email: DataAndReports@oshpd.ca.gov
Website: http://www.oshpd.ca.gov
 
Colorado
Krista Smith
Manager, Data Quality and Security Information Services
Colorado Hospital Association
7335 East Orchard Road, Suite 100
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Phone: (720) 330-6064
Fax: (720) 489-9400
Email: krista.smith@cha.com
Website: http://www.cha.com
 
Connecticut
Mary Lyon
Vice President
Integrated Health Information
Connecticut Hospital Association
110 Barnes Road
Wallingford, CT 06492-0090
Phone: (203) 265-7611
Fax: (203) 741-5637
Email: lyon@chime.org
Website: https://cthosp.org/
 
District of Columbia
Justin Palmer
Vice President, Government Relations
District of Columbia Hospital Association
1152 15th Street, NW, Ste. 900
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (202) 289-6212
Fax: N/A
Email: jpalmer@dcha.org
Website: http://www.dcha.org
 
Florida
Patricia Vidal
Unit Administrator, Office of Data Dissemination
Florida Agency for Health Care Administration
Agency for Health Care Administration
2727 Mahan Drive, Mail Stop 16
Room 1403B, Building 3
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Phone: (850) 412-3785
Fax: (850) 488-1261
Email: patricia.vidal@ahca.myflorida.com
Website: http://ahca.myflorida.com/SCHS/index.shtml
 
Georgia
Bill Wylie
Senior Vice President Business Operations
Georgia Hospital Association
1675 Terrell Mill Road
Marietta, GA 30067
Phone: (770) 249-4512
Fax: (770) 955-5801
Email: bwylie@gha.org
Website: https://www.gha.org/
 
Hawaii
Tang Song
Executive Director
Laulima Data Alliance, a non-profit subsidiary of the Healthcare Association of Hawaii
707 Richards Street (PH7)
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 521-8961
Email: tsong@laulimadata.org
Website: http://www.laulimadata.org
 
Karen Pellegrin
Director of Continuing Education & Strategic Plan
Center for Rural Health Science
University of Hawaii at Hilo
34 Rainbow Drive
Hilo, HI 96720
Phone: (808) 933-2914
Email: karen3@hawaii.edu
Website: https://pharmacy.uhh.hawaii.edu/
 
Illinois
Dejan Jovanov
Discharge Data Manager/System Architect
Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Ave, 7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60603-6152
Phone: (312) 814-1627
Fax: (312) 814-1953
Email: Dejan.Jovanov@illinois.gov
Website: http://www.dph.illinois.gov/
 
Indiana
Matt Browning
Vice President, Data and Member Solutions Data Services
Indiana Hospital Association
500 N. Meridian St.
Suite 250
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 423-7739
Fax:  
Email: mattbrowning@ihaconnect.org
Website: http://www.ihaconnect.org
 
Iowa
Kathy Trytten
Senior Director, Information Center
Iowa Hospital Association
100 East Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: (515) 283-9338
Fax: (515) 283-9366
Email: tryttenk@ihaonline.org
Website: http://www.ihaonline.org
 
Kansas
Sally Othmer
Senior Director, Data Services
Kansas Hospital Association
215 SE 8th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66603-3906
Phone: (785) 233-7436
Fax: (785) 233-6955
Email: sperkins@kha-net.org
Website: http://www.kha-net.org
 
Kentucky
Allison Lile
Healthcare Data Administrator
Office of Health Policy
Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services
275 East Main Street 4WE
Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: (502) 564-9592 ext. 3155
Email: allison.lile@ky.gov
Website: https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/ohda/Pages/analyticsdiv.aspx
 
Maine
Karynlee Harrington
Acting Director
Maine Health Data Organization
151 Capitol Street
102 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0102
Phone: (207) 287-6722
Fax: (207) 287-6732
Email: karynlee.harrington@maine.gov
Website: https://mhdo.maine.gov/
 
Maryland
Oscar Ibarra
Chief
Information Mgmt and Program Administration
Maryland Health Services Cost Review Commission
4160 Patterson Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21215
Phone: (410) 764-2566
Fax: (410) 358-6217
Email: Oscar.Ibarra@Maryland.gov
Website: http://www.hscrc.state.md.us
 
Michigan
Laura Peariso
Senior Director, Health Care Information
Michigan Health & Hospital Association
2112 University Park Drive
Okemos, MI 48864
Phone: (517) 886-8353
Fax: (517) 703-0620
Email: lpeariso@mha.org
Website: http://www.mha.org
 
Minnesota
Joe Schindler
Vice President
Minnesota Hospital Association
2550 University Avenue W., Suite 350-S
St. Paul, MN 55114-1900
Phone: (651) 641-1121
Fax: (651) 645-0002
Email: jschindler@mnhospitals.org
Website: http://www.mnhospitals.org
 
Missouri
Theresa Roark
Senior Vice President
Research, Data & Information Services
Hospital Industry Data Institute
4712 Country Club Drive
Jefferson City, MO 65109-4541
Phone: (573) 893-3700 x1354
Fax: (573) 635-9638
Email: troark@mhanet.com
Website: http://www.mhanet.com
 
Nebraska
David DeVries
Director of Health Data
Nebraska Hospital Association
3255 Salt Creek Circle, Ste. 100
Lincoln, NE 68504-4778
Phone: (402) 742-8165
Fax: (402) 742-8191
Email: ddevries@nebraskahospitals.org
Website: http://www.nebraskahospitals.org/
 
Nevada
For Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, contact:
Joseph Greenway
Director
Center for Health Information Analysis
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
School of Community Health Sciences
4505 Maryland Parkway, Box 455058
Las Vegas, NV 89154-5058
Phone: (702) 895-5436
Fax: (702) 895-4276
Email: joseph.greenway@unlv.edu
Website: http://NevadaCompareCare.Net
 
New Jersey
Markos Ezra
Research Scientist
Health Care Quality Assessment
New Jersey Department of Health
225 East State Street, 2nd Floor, West | PO Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625
Phone: (609) 341-5537
Fax: (609) 984-7735
Email: markos.ezra@doh.nj.gov
Website: http://www.nj.gov/health/healthcarequality
 
New York
John Piddock
Director, SPARCS Operations
Bureau Health Informatics
Office of Quality and Patient Safety
New York State Department of Health
Corning Tower Room 1970
Albany, NY 12237
Phone: (518) 473-8144
Fax:
Email: john.piddock@health.ny.gov
Website: https://www.health.ny.gov/statistics/sparcs/
 
North Carolina
For North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, contact:
Sandra Greene
Professor Health Policy and Management
Senior Research Fellow, Sheps Center for Health Services Research
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Sheps Center
100 Europa Center, Suite 201
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone: (919) 966-0993
Fax: (919) 966-3811
Email: sbgreene@email.unc.edu
Website: http://www.shepscenter.unc.edu/data/nc-hospital-discharge-data/
 
North Dakota
Minnesota distributes data for North Dakota. See Minnesota Hospital Association.
 
 
Ohio
Heidi Mannix
Senior Director, Data Services
Ohio Hospital Association
155 East Broad Street, Suite 301
Columbus, OH 43215-3640
Phone: (614) 221-7614
Fax:  
Email: heidi.mannix@ohiohospitals.org
Website: http://www.ohiohospitals.org/
 
Oklahoma
Raffaella Espinoza
Analytics and Dissemination Manager
Center for Health Statistics
Oklahoma State Department of Health
1000 NE 10th Street, Room 807
Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299
Phone: (405) 271-6225
Fax: (405) 271-9061
Email: raffaellae@health.ok.gov
Website: http://www.ok.gov/health/
 
Oregon
Jerry Nemer
Director
Health Information Systems
Oregon Association of Hospitals and Health Systems
4000 Kruse Way Place
Building 2, Suite 100
Lake Oswego, OR 97035
Phone: (503) 479-6010
Fax: (503) 636-8310
Email: Jerry.Nemer@apprisehealthinsights.com
Website: http://www.oahhs.org/
 
Pennsylvania
JoAnne Nelson
Supervisor
Special Requests
Pennsylvania Health Care Cost Containment Council
225 Market Street, Suite 400
Harrisburg, PA 17101
Phone: (717) 232-6787
Fax: (717) 232-3821
Email: jnelson@phc4.org
Website: http://www.phc4.org
 
South Carolina
Chris Finney
Program Manager
Health & Demographics
South Carolina Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office
1000 Assembly Street, Suite 240
Rembert C. Dennis Building
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 898-9969
Fax: (803) 734-0268
Email: chris.finney@rfa.sc.gov
Website: http://rfa.sc.gov/
 
South Dakota
Kristen Bunt
Director, Quality Integration
South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations
3708 W Brooks Place
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone: (605) 789-7529
Fax:  
Email: kristen.bunt@sdaho.org
Website: http://www.sdaho.org
 
Tennessee
Patrick Turri
Assistant VP for Data Analysis
Department of Information Services
Tennessee Hospital Association
5201 Virginia Way
Brentwood, TN 37027
Phone: (615) 401-7449
Fax: (615) 242-4803
Email: pturri@tha.com
Website: http://www.tha.com
 
Texas
Bruce Burns
Manager
Texas Health Care Information Collection
DSHS - Center for Health Statistics Mail Code - 1898
Department of State Health Services
1100 W. 49th Street, M - 628
Austin, TX 78714-9909
Phone: (512) 776-6431
Fax: (512) 776-7740
Email: bruce.burns@dshs.texas.gov
Website: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/thcic/
 
Utah
Kimberly Partain McNamara
Senior Business Analyst
Office of Health Care Statistics
Utah Department of Health
288 North 1460 West, 4th Floor
P.O. Box 144004
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone: (801) 538-9179
Fax: (801) 538-9916
Email: kmcnamara@utah.gov
Website: http://stats.health.utah.gov/
 
Vermont
Matt Griffith
Data Coordinator
Vermont Association of Hospitals and Health Systems
148 Main St
Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone: (802) 223-3461 x 115
Email: matt@vahhs.org
Website: http://www.vahhs.org
 
Wisconsin
DHSDPH Data Resource Center
Division of Public Health
Wisconsin Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street, Room 250
Madison, WI 53702
Phone: (608) 267-0233
Fax:  
Email: DHSDPHDataResourceCenter@dhs.wisconsin.gov
Website: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/
 

Internet Citation: HCUP Partners Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). September 2019. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD. www.hcup-us.ahrq.gov/partners.jsp?NASS.
Are you having problems viewing or printing pages on this Website?
If you have comments, suggestions, and/or questions, please contact hcup@ahrq.gov.
Privacy Notice, Viewers & Players
Last modified 9/13/19